Welcome to Reception



Mrs Merrett/Mrs Button
Mrs Warren


Miss Tudor-Williams
Mrs Butler/Mrs Wilson

Mrs Rook/Miss Alexander
Mrs Warne

Reception follow the DfE statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage, which from September 2012 became mandatory for all schools.
The framework is made up of three main areas:
Communication and Language, Physical Development, Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The four specific areas are:
Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World,  Expressive Arts and Design    

The Prime Areas of Learning

Communication and language development
Children will be given opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.


Physical Development
Children will be given opportunities to be active and interactive. They will develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, to dress independently and to make healthy choices in relation to food and healthy living.


Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Children will be supported to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.


The Specific Areas of Learning
Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials to ignite their interest and enthusiasm in reading.


Provide children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.


Understanding the World
Guide children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
Expressive arts and design
Enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play, and design and technology.

The seven areas provide a framework, but this does not mean that all of young children’s learning is divided up into areas. One experience may provide a child with opportunities to develop a number of competences, skills and concepts across several areas. For example, children building with blocks may cooperate in carrying the heavy and large blocks, negotiate the best place to put them, compare the weight and dimensions of different blocks and act out an imaginary scene. Therefore, they may be developing language, Mathematics, physical, personal and social competences through this one activity. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.  

End of year expectations for Reception children